Archive for January 3rd, 2011

03
Jan
11

Lascivious or not?

december 2010 saw me, and a few colleagues, in a new light.  we had to come up with a dance number good enough to be performed in front of a hundred people and, hopefully, win a prize.  and we had to do it in just a few days because everyone involved was busy.

so, in one week, we were able to finalize everything (music, dance steps and costume) and wowed everyone who were in that party.  we won second place and we were more than happy for the performance we gave.

but, as you probably all know, you cannot please everyone.  immediately after our dance number a couple of our colleagues tried to ruin our jubilant mood by telling us that they heard some people saying that the number (and costumes) were too sexy that it bordered on being lascivious.

however, despite that feedback we didn’t let it bother us because everyone we talked to only had praises for what we did and that was enough for us.  we wanted to wow the audience and we were able to achieve that so we are happy.

we made such an impact that the rest of our colleagues asked us to perform the number (without the sexy costumes, of course) during our annual Christmas party as our big boss was not able to see it.  and, again, we only got praises afterwards.

january 2011 saw me, and a couple of colleagues, discussing one of the said jubilant-mood-destroyer colleague and her nasty comments about our performance.  according to her, some people sent her messages telling her that what we did was lascivious and that it was a good thing she was not a part of it.  she told one of us that before our Christmas party the big bosses had a long meeting about it and they decided to never participate in the coming years.

we weren’t bummed out when they first said that some people found it lascivious because we know that we were able to please a  big percentage of the audience and that was enough for us.  we know we would not be able to please everyone there so we really didn’t care if a part of the audience thought it was too sexy.  and we respect the fact that everyone has his or her own opinions and they are entitled to them.

what bummed us out was the fact that a colleague would still insist on putting us down a month (technically, a year) after it all happened.  that someone would not rest until we feel that we are slutty b*tches that performed a very lascivious dance.

and what made it worse is the fact that we are not sure if she did get those messages because she is known to come up with stories just to create trouble between two people.  she said some really nasty and unbelievable things that got me thinking: was what we did really that lascivious?  or was she just that jealous that we could pull something like that off and she couldn’t?

now, i am sitting in front of my laptop, thinking, were we really lascivious?  or was she?

which is more lascivious?  to dance a sexy dance and do it in an almost professional way?  or to make up stories just to degrade colleagues and make them feel bad about themselves?

03
Jan
11

I can drive a stick! ;)

for my first post this day i have decided to go with postaday2011’s suggestion.  after all, my biggest achievement for 2010  is worth posting…  😀

2010 gave me lots of room for achievement but what i would consider my best one was when i learned how to drive.

yes, i am 30 years old (turning 31 this year) and i just learned how to drive last year.  i learned because i had to.  and i am living proof that sometimes you have to learn the hard way.

you see, we don’t have a car that i can practice on.  i had to rely on the driving lessons i got from my driving instructor and wish for the best.  so, the first time our company driver gave me a driving test he flunked me and advised me to take driving lessons again.

so, i did just that and the second time he gave me a driving test i was able to get a passing mark.  i was given a 10-year old Toyota with automatic transmission as my first car.

i can still remember my excitement when the car was given to me.  and, it didn’t matter to me if the car was already 10 years old.  i loved it and drove myself home that very night.  but, as i was still a bit scared, i went really slow and my sister actually joked that we might get pulled over for driving too slow.  🙂

the very next day, however, i experienced the hardest (i am praying that nothing would top this) lesson i am to learn when it comes to driving.  i got into 2 minor accidents within 2 hours!

i was shaking all over by the time we got to the police station that i was not able to drive the car back to our office.  but, when everything was settled, my bosses insisted that i still drive myself home.  so, i asked a colleague to accompany me and she gave me tips along the way.  i will forever be grateful to her for this.

so, that night i coerced my father to stay with us for a few weeks and accompany me as i drive around town.  he did and during those few weeks that he accompanied me i learned something else.  that fathers may say harsh things but they only do so so you could become a better person, in my case a better driver.  i wouldn’t have improved as a driver without my father’s harsh but effective lessons.  and in those few weeks i realized how much i love my father.  and, whether he says it or not, how much he loves me.

and after nine months of driving my first baby, i was given a younger and better baby.  only, this time it is a 2-year old Toyota with a manual transmission.  needless to say, i had to adjust all over again.  but, thanks to my father’s lessons (again), this time it took me less time to improve my driving skills.

now, i can proudly say that i learned how to drive both an automatic transmission and a stick in less than a year!

and if you think that is not an achievement then i don’t know what is.  🙂




January 2011
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

dwell not in the past but learn from it

hits, punches, and kicks

  • 2,339 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other subscribers